Scratch Mile…

Earlier this year a distant cousin sent me an old, original print. The photograph shows my Great Grandfather ‘John Russell’ (centre) lining up at a cycle race (1907). Close scrutiny revealed that he was about to do the Scratch Mile. I know my Great Grandfather won a few trophies in his time – some are still in the family.

On the reverse there is some very faint pencil, barely legible. I took a high resolution photograph, reversed the image and used some clever software to help reveal the secret.

image

Stockton Cycling Club, 1907 – the race was at Stockton Victoria Field in Stockton-on-Tees. My great Grandfather (centre) raced for a win against Tom Child’s (left); it is difficult to make out the name of the cyclist on the right – maybe you can help?

The Gazette published this photograph.

Leave a comment